GStat Pro
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Out of Bounds 1800Duffers is on a distinguished road 1800Duffers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    539

    Ruling-Patrick Reed

    In reference to Patrick Reed and Sat. round, why would you move your ball and then ask for an official?

  2. #2
    Singles Match Play Champ 2009 Team Match Play Champ 2013, 2014 leftylucas is on a distinguished road leftylucas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pine Arbour Estates, Port Elmsley
    Posts
    7,370
    He is clearly not interested in following rules then justifies it, he does not care what others think
    Lefty Lucas
    I am abidextrous, I once golfed right-handed and now I shoot left-handed just as badly!

  3. #3
    Out of Bounds 1800Duffers is on a distinguished road 1800Duffers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    539
    The analysts are questioning his play, hope he doesn’t win but he is in the lead

  4. #4
    Putter silverdog is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    ottawa
    Posts
    8
    gonna be an asterisk on the win

  5. #5
    Golf Pig of the Year 09, 10, 11 Marcos is on a distinguished road Marcos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    hollywood
    Posts
    5,399
    As a pro, he should know better.

  6. #6
    Birdie Gofish2 is on a distinguished road Gofish2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa & Merritt Island, Fl
    Posts
    346
    Don't care for him but admire the way he plays through the turmoil and seems to thrive and feed off the critics.

  7. #7
    Out of Bounds 1800Duffers is on a distinguished road 1800Duffers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    539
    Something for Patrick to consider to boost his image would be to pay his caddy and donate the rest.

  8. #8
    Golf Nut Gobble_It is on a distinguished road Gobble_It's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by 1800Duffers View Post
    In reference to Patrick Reed and Sat. round, why would you move your ball and then ask for an official?

    Because he could, per the rule. He believed his ball was embedded and the official confirmed when he called

    "

    If a player reasonably believes that his or her ball lies in a condition where free relief is allowed under Rule 15.2, 16.1 or 16.3, but cannot decide that without lifting the ball:
    • The player may lift the ball to see if relief is allowed, but:
    • The spot of the ball must first be marked, and the lifted ball must not be cleaned (except on the putting green) (see Rule 14.1)."

  9. #9
    Golf Nut Gobble_It is on a distinguished road Gobble_It's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcos View Post
    As a pro, he should know better.

    He applied the rule to the tee. You can question his integrity but he didn't violate any rule. He believed his ball was embedded,then marked, lifted and checked. He then called the official who confirmed that it was embedded. Had the official not confirmed that , he would have been assessed a penalty.

  10. #10
    Hall of Fame spackler is on a distinguished road spackler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In the neighbourhood
    Posts
    4,641
    Quote Originally Posted by Gobble_It View Post
    He applied the rule to the tee. You can question his integrity but he didn't violate any rule. He believed his ball was embedded,then marked, lifted and checked. He then called the official who confirmed that it was embedded. Had the official not confirmed that , he would have been assessed a penalty.
    He would not have been assessed a penalty if the official had decided it wasn't imbedded, he would have had to replace it and recreate the lie. But the official didn't get to see the lie, he only found a 'pitch mark' that Reed said was where the ball came to rest.

    I agree with you about questioning his integrity. He said it himself, if the ball bounced, there's no way it could be imbedded. He's a proven cheat, he has been that way since at least college, and he sure shouldn't get the benefit of the doubt.

  11. #11
    Out of Bounds 1800Duffers is on a distinguished road 1800Duffers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    539
    I'm not disputing the rules, but a witness always affirms your choice.

  12. #12
    Golf Nut Gobble_It is on a distinguished road Gobble_It's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by 1800Duffers View Post
    I'm not disputing the rules, but a witness always affirms your choice.

    It's not required by the rule. Rory did the same, he picked up his embedded ball and didn't even bother calling the ref. over for an opinion.

    The only problem I have is Patrick said if the ball bounces, it is impossible for a ball to be plugged...and we all know now that it did bounce.

  13. #13
    Birdie Gofish2 is on a distinguished road Gofish2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa & Merritt Island, Fl
    Posts
    346
    Just wondering, once the official gives the OK is it possible for a player to penalize himself after seeing a video ( he would in effect be overturning an official ruling) ?

  14. #14
    Hall of Fame spackler is on a distinguished road spackler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In the neighbourhood
    Posts
    4,641
    Quote Originally Posted by Gofish2 View Post
    Just wondering, once the official gives the OK is it possible for a player to penalize himself after seeing a video ( he would in effect be overturning an official ruling) ?
    If a player subsequently admitted that the ball was not imbedded after taking relief for it, which is what you're describing, he would probably be disqualified. But once you have a ruling, you're protected. No need to pretend to be honest after the fact.

  15. #15
    Birdie Gofish2 is on a distinguished road Gofish2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa & Merritt Island, Fl
    Posts
    346
    Supposing Reed honestly believed the ball was imbedded but after seeing the video of the bounce came to the conclusion he was in error; is it possible for him to penalize himself other than withdrawing ?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2016, 07:00 PM
  2. The Villain: Patrick Reed
    By mjf in forum Tour Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2015, 04:03 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2015, 01:36 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2014, 06:16 PM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-08-2014, 10:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts