CorporateGolfXtra 2022
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,163

    8 Club Lengths Relief - Almost

    One of the players in the Tunis yesterday, hit his second shot into a lateral water hazard to the left of the 18th green. He correctly measured his two club lengths relief and placed a marker on the cart path than ran parallel to the LWH. Dropping the ball correctly on to the cart path, the ball rolled almost two club lengths and came to rest in the rough, but the player's feet were still on the cart path. He correctly found his nearest point of relief and measured and marked this point. He dropped the ball near the outermost point of the 1 club length and the ball rolled almost two club lengths to a point where it was "in play." The total relief was between 7 to 8 club lengths, on to a reasonably good lie from which he made an excellent stroke.

    Rule 20-2c permits the ball to roll up two club lengths from the point where it first strikes the course and as we discussed earlier, a player takes relief from one condition at a time. Some times, the rules can be your friend.

  2. #2
    Golf Canada Rules Official L4 LobWedge is on a distinguished road LobWedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    On the 1st tee
    Posts
    5,339
    Quote Originally Posted by BC MIST View Post
    One of the players in the Tunis yesterday, hit his second shot into a lateral water hazard to the left of the 18th green. He correctly measured his two club lengths relief and placed a marker on the cart path than ran parallel to the LWH. Dropping the ball correctly on to the cart path, the ball rolled almost two club lengths and came to rest in the rough, but the player's feet were still on the cart path. He correctly found his nearest point of relief and measured and marked this point. He dropped the ball near the outermost point of the 1 club length and the ball rolled almost two club lengths to a point where it was "in play." The total relief was between 7 to 8 club lengths, on to a reasonably good lie from which he made an excellent stroke.

    Rule 20-2c permits the ball to roll up two club lengths from the point where it first strikes the course and as we discussed earlier, a player takes relief from one condition at a time. Some times, the rules can be your friend.
    Good for him for taking the time to do it right.
    When applying the Rules, you follow them line by line. You don't read between them.

  3. #3
    Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,163
    Quote Originally Posted by LobWedge View Post
    Good for him for taking the time to do it right.
    After each step he asked me if what he was doing was correct, but this was probably done just a courtesy, as he obviously knew how to take advantage of the procedures for his own benefit, without going over the line.

  4. #4
    Hall of Fame sillywilly is on a distinguished road sillywilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    In every OG members heart :)
    Posts
    4,175
    i play with guys who take 8 club length relief all the time... what is the big deal? LOL
    willy
    email change to [EMAIL="depe.juneja@gmail.com"]depe.juneja@gmail.com[/EMAIL]

  5. #5
    3 Wood hackzaw is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Waterdown, ON
    Posts
    210
    Just to confirm, because I love learning this rules stuff, the part about taking relief from the cart path. So, he found the nearest point of relief and marked that point. Then took 1 club length and marked that position. When he dropped his ball, how does the ruling work? It must land between the two marks, but can roll outside these marks no closer to the hole and so long as it comes to rest within two club lengths of either mark, the ball is in play?

    I had thought the ball had to come to rest within the original 1 club length marks.

  6. #6
    Posting Sensei justsomeguy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    around here
    Posts
    2,082
    Quote Originally Posted by hackzaw View Post
    It must land between the two marks, but can roll outside these marks no closer to the hole and so long as it comes to rest within two club lengths of either mark, the ball is in play?
    Not quite:

    A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it:

    (vi) rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Dropping within 1 or 2 Club-lengths
    By mjf in forum Rules Of Golf
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-22-2007, 03:54 AM
  2. What is TWO CLUB LENGTHS?
    By BC MIST in forum Rules Of Golf
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 02:51 PM
  3. Longest club - 2 club lengths
    By "Richard" in forum Rules Of Golf
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-03-2005, 01:18 AM
  4. Relief-What Club to Use
    By BC MIST in forum Rules Of Golf
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 08:34 PM
  5. Relief - which club
    By Mulligan Man in forum Rules Of Golf
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2003, 03:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts