100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Lob Wedge Wrexxer is on a distinguished road

Choosing iron set, need help?

Hey all,

I've been playing golf for about 6 years now, I'm 25, and the 2 last year the game has really come around been playing really good (well according to my standards anyways !LOL!)...

Anyways, this year I've purchased a new driver and I'm driving really good, it's a Nike 9* sith a stiff shaft I had tries 2 other with regular shaft and I was having issues!, so latelly I've been looking at Irons I really need a set cause my set is a cheap set and they're due!! ehehe... I guess I could be considered a long hitter and I swing pretty hard, I've tried graphite shafts and it didn't go very well!!

I was wondering the following, What do I need to consider when purchasing Iron set:

shaft important?
    offset no offset?

I was gonna buy new but I've been looking on this site and see some nice prices!! I might go used...

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Moderator Big Johnny69 is on a distinguished road Big Johnny69's Avatar
    Forever stuck between single digit and trunk slammer!
    If you are going to buy new, get fitted first. You can usually use the fitting fee to put towards the price of your new set. Any retailer will do it, and there is a bunch of custom component builders in the city who do it as well. If you are buying used it is just a matter of demoing and seeing what works/looks and feels best for you. You should find out your swing speed though so you are put into the proper flex shafted irons. Hope this helps.

Can I do that at Golf Town?

Moderator Big Johnny69 is on a distinguished road Big Johnny69's Avatar
    Forever stuck between single digit and trunk slammer!