100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Putter modz is on a distinguished road

Best Courses for Walking & Best 9 Holes

As I'm new to Ottawa Golf I'd like to get some thoughts and opinions on the most walkable courses in the region. I'd prefer open and flat, but a condensed hilly course would be okay as well.

I'm also hoping to gather some intel on the best 9 hole segments. Let me know your favourite and most memorable grouping of holes.

I use Google Earth/Golf GPS apps to see layouts and use topographic maps to see elevation change but I figure first hand knowledge is best.

Thanks in advance.

Postmaster General big mac is on a distinguished road big mac's Avatar
    Walking---Casselview--Canadian--Arnprior--Anderson--Emerald Links--Marshes.

Hilly--Nations--Renfrew--Sorcier (I don't think you can walk) Whitetail

That's only 10 of over 100 within one hour
    Does the 2nd hole-n-one come easier ?

3 Wood cruxradio is on a distinguished road
    The the majority of courses around Ottawa are flat and easy to walk. Amongst the best 18 hole easy walking courses with nice layouts and conditioning are Equinelle, Rockland and Emerald Links.

Shotmaker Johnyc is on a distinguished road
    Open and flat would have to be Cloverdale. Basically zero elevation change, super short distance between greens and tees and hardly a tree on the entire golf course. Not the nicest course but checks your boxes.

As for the best nine hole segments, I don’t have much experience with the public courses but I was always partial to Upper Canada.

I'm a regular em69 is on a distinguished road em69's Avatar
    Anderson Links, Cloverdale Links, Emerald Links, Pineview, eQuinelle...all good for walking.

Greensmere can be a tough walk with steep elevations and some long distances between greens and tees (worst I have ever seen).

Thanks for the info. Didn't expect eQuinelle to be so walkable as I avoided even looking at it due to its positioning within a subdivision.