CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Club Head Speed

Caddy beefstuf is on a distinguished road beefstuf's Avatar

Club Head Speed

I have registered at about a 90-100 club head speed. I know a lot of the players on tour are between 120-150 depending on the club and the player. I also have a friend and his club speed is 125. How do you achieve/generate a quicker club head speed? Is it from the hips? From the hands.....I am curious of this?

Amateur Brianson is on a distinguished road Brianson's Avatar

Snap that wet towel!

I am by no means a certified pro but first and foremost a steady work-out routine is an absolute must if you want to get that swing speed up and you can simply check out a couple sites on the net that would help with some. But a friend of mine used a training method that was simple and easy to do. You know when you take a towel and snap someone with it...well try doing that but with your left hand (for a right handed player) bringing it through like you would a golf club on your down swing. That final wrist motion that creates the 'SNAP' of the towel is exactly what you need to gain an extra 10-15 yards on your drives. That is one of the things Els does and that's why his swing looks so smooth and slow becuase he uses that final Snap to take that clubhead speed up a notch.

Andru
    Quote Originally Posted by beefstuf
    I have registered at about a 90-100 club head speed. I know a lot of the players on tour are between 120-150 depending on the club and the player. I also have a friend and his club speed is 125. How do you achieve/generate a quicker club head speed? Is it from the hips? From the hands.....I am curious of this?
    hmm 150. .

Pros are between 110-125 with their Drivers. The big hitters like woods hit 126-127.