CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Sand Wedge Quesnelr is on a distinguished road

Tournament Organization

Will be organizing a family tournament (40 +/- golfers) in late August and was looking for fun things to do and give to participants. Also any suggestions to collect $, people show up on time, keep a good pace on the course, etc. Any reference material?
    Thanks

Founder Kilroy is on a distinguished road Kilroy's Avatar
    Hey Quesnelr, welcome to our forum.
    I am thinking about putting together a guide on the site, for first time toiurnament organizers, but I am kinda new at it myself

Do the basics; Closest to the pin (as many as you can), long drive, closest to the centrelin. The course management and staff are always very helpfull with putting out signs and rope for these things, or you can give the implements to the first cart out, and have them picked up by the last.

You could organize it in different ways, a scramble is good if there are a number of occasional players, since you all play from the best position, and it is a team effort; a challenge to go low for the better groups. If all the players are avid golfers, a best ball is fun. (lowest ball is the team score) This is good because it is a team effort, but you alll play your own ball to the hole. Sometimes accomplished golfers prefer this to picking up, and playing the best position.

For a few ideas, check out out OttawaGolf Tour page to see what kinds of games within the game we do at our events.

Try to gather as many prizes as you can, ask anyone you think may be able to help. Make sure to have a sign up listing the prize donors.

Hall of Fame NoBack is on a distinguished road NoBack's Avatar

Talking

You dont say how good these golfers are other htna it is a family tournament. How good are they and whay kinda golf do they play.
    Start slow and give out as much as possible without charging an arm and a leg.