CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Bizzzer

Lift, clean and place.

Hi there !

I've been playing golf for over 35 years at a high amateur level.

When playins "prefered lies" in the fairways with the clean, lift and place procedure, I always marked my ball with a tee, cleaned it then replaced it within the lenth autorized.

Before I'm ready to play, I usually leave my tee in place in case my ball moves. I remove the tee before hitting my shot.

My question is the following : I was told that as soon as my fingers leave the ball, it's considered "in play". Is that right ? Is it a new procedure ? Is it a local rule ? What is that rule's number ?

Thank you in advance !

Bizzzer from Quebec

Shotmaker spidey is on a distinguished road spidey's Avatar
    My question is the following : I was told that as soon as my fingers leave the ball, it's considered "in play". Is that right ? Is it a new procedure ? Is it a local rule ? What is that rule's number ?
    No, it's not new. It's always been that way. Once a ball is dropped or placed, it is in play. It doesn't make any difference whether you have lifted the marker or not.

20-4. When Ball Dropped or Placed is in Play
    If the player’s ball in play has been lifted, it is again in play when dropped or placed.
    [color=blue]s[/color][color=red]p[/color][color=blue]i[/color][color=red]d[/color][color=blue]e[/color][color=red]y[/color]

[color=seagreen]"Got more dirt than ball. Here we go again."
    Alan Shepard, Apollo 14 Commander, Amateur-Golfer, preparing to take another swing during his famous moon walk in 1971.
    [/color]

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by Bizzzer
    Before I'm ready to play, I usually leave my tee in place in case my ball moves. I remove the tee before hitting my shot.