CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    72 Divots

Cool Overlly Complicated?

I certainly do not want to offend anyone with what I am about to say, but I think it must be said. I have been playing for many years and have always had a decent understanding of the rules of golf. However, recently I have taken a much bigger interest in gaining a greater understanding of all the rules of golf and, therefore have been reading the rule book on a consistent basis.

With all this being said, it seems to me that the rules of golf are much more complicated than they need to be (particularlyl for non-tournament golf). Would it not make sense to standardize penalty strokes (e.g., make every infraction one-stroke) for example? Perhaps part of the complication is that solely knowing the rules is not enough to fully understand them as the interpretation of the rules is just as important.

I love the integrity aspect of golf and the character-building result of calling penalties on yourself. However, I think there would be much less unconscious violation of rules if they were easier to understand and interpret.

Am I way off base here?

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    You are not the only one who thinks this, and it comes up very frequently.

In fact the latest revision of the rule book, which happens every 4(?) years, did try to simplify them somewhat. It's a hard thing to do because both the USGA and the R&A have to agree.

Hopelessly Addicted Shivas Irons is on a distinguished road Shivas Irons's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 72 Divots
    it seems to me that the rules of golf are much more complicated than they need to be (particularlyl for non-tournament golf).
    Am I way off base here?
    Nope, you're not off base at all.