CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Putter dozer996 is on a distinguished road

Building House with Golf Sim - Need Advice

Attached is my space for the new Golf Room with 11ft ceilings.

I am open to suggestions from the community.

1. What is the best use of space? Hit towards the south wall or west wall?
    2. I have a budget of $7,000
    a. Projector is excluded from the budget as I already have a 1080p projector
    b. what kind of hitting mat?
    c. what kind of impact screen?
    d. what kind of head unit, GC2 or Flight Scope?
    e. I'm thinking of doing the entire floor in a putting surface, say something from Pro Putt Systems and then designate a hitting area for the Sim...good idea?

I'm open to what ever anyone wants to include...I'm new to this and want to get it right the first time.

Cheers

Golf Room.jpg

Consistently present SnazzyD is on a distinguished road
    (traditionalists can skip this post as sci-fi nonsense)

This sounds awesome - I've always wanted to do something like this but never had the space. I was even looking into rigging up my garage/storage room until I experienced modern VR for the first time and realized I'd need to actually "be there", and that it would be a lot cheaper, too.

So personally, I'd get the HTC Vive VR headset when it comes out in November and actually BE there on the course. It supports a tracking volume of about 15x15 feet which is more than enough to address the ball or line up a putt, etc. The only IF being whether The Golf Club or other title will patch in native support for it. I know there's one golf title set to launch alongside it, but it seems a bit dinky and not the kind of "sim" experience most of us on here would want.

Still not sure if there will be a merging of traditional sim mechanics (the tracking of the ball, the hitting of a real ball with real clubs, etc.) but I'm pretty sure this will happen pretty soon. The world of home entertainment is about to change dramatically...