CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Putter orlimar is on a distinguished road

Need advice on blades

Hello everyone! Let me start by saying I’m Dutch, therefore please forgive me any flaws in my typing. By surfing on the net I came across this interesting and very active forum. I am considering buying a new set of clubs and try to find as much information as possible. Maybe you can help me on my way?

At the moment I play around handicap 10 with my Prosimmon OGC oversized clubs with graphite shaft. But I’m starting to feel constrained by the big heads when I’m in the rough, or when my bal is in a difficult spot. I also feel that I need more control and precision for my approach shots and I think blades might help me out with this. My local golfshop only has outdated models for incredible high prices. With the favourable ratio (for me) between the euro and the dollar, buying something in the States could be an option (I am a student, with a need for cash). But there is soooo much information on the net, I can’t see the forest through the trees (as we say in Holland). Can somebody tell me where I can find information on which brands and types of golf clubs are worth considering? Preferably for clubs from a few years back (around 2003), that I can buy for a good price on Ebay. I just don’t know what to look for.

Also, I am 1.95 m, which is around 6.4 ft (some calculator on the internet did that for me) and therefore need my set to be 1 inch longer than standard length. Is it possible to buy a regular sized set (since lengthened sets are not easy to find on Ebay) and lengthen is afterwards? Or does that badly affect the characteristics of the club?

And one other thing, should I consider a stiff flex? I swing pretty fast, and “should therefore be needing” a stiff flex, but I prefer the feel of my regular flex.

Hmmm, many questions, sorry for that.

Thanks in advance for any reactions!

Jeroen

Putter orlimar is on a distinguished road