CorporateGolfXtra 2023
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Projector Help

Putter Gashirk is on a distinguished road

Projector Help

Building a golf simulator in my basement and need some help with picking out a projector (one of the last pieces). Screen is 110" wide, 84" high, 138" diagonal. Would like a throw distance of about 14 - 15 feet so the projector is mounted behind the hitting mat area (11 - 12 feet).

I've been advised to get a WXGA, 16:10 with 3,500+ lumens. I've been researching projector central but I'm new to this and it's very confusing. I'd like the picture to fill the entire screen.

- My screen dimensions line up more with 4:3 ratio vs 16:10, will 16:10 fit my screen? The room is dedicated to golf vs. movies, etc.
    - I plan to run SkyTrak with WGT and E6 when available, should I upgrade to 1080?

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Putter omfs44 is on a distinguished road
    If you want to fill up your screen entirely, you have to project a 4:3 resolution. You don't necessary have to get a 4:3 native resolution projector. Based on your graphic card, MS windows itself can change your resolution. 1600x1200 would be a nice resolution to project at. Something like the Benq HT1085ST might fit your needs. And when you watch a movie, it will automatically switch to 16:9 or 16:10 format.

Thanks for the reply... This projector comes in a short throw (ST) or longer throw model. Any feedback on having the projector in front or in back of the hitting mat area? I will have some overhead lights above the hitting mat on a dimmer so I can regulate the brightness, does that impact where I should mount the projector?

Thanks again!

Putter omfs44 is on a distinguished road