100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Gap Wedge cheezemaster is on a distinguished road

Angry Not enough distance

I've been playing golf for four years. broke 100 3 times only played 10 rounds in my life yet practice in my yard every day and go to the range often. curious why i don't have distance. i used to only hit my pw 50 yards! absolutely RIDICULOUS! now it only goes about 60 and my driver 170. i've tried everything i've been told like hitting harder or swinging easier or relaxing, lag, fast hip rotation and all the methods you can possibly imagine. so what the crap???!!!

by the way everyone says my swing is perfect including the pros at my course. so its not my swing.

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    Not trying to be an ass, but if you are only hitting driver 170, it is your swing. If it were "perfect" you should be hitting it farther.

You haven't given us any information that might be helpful (age, height, etc).
    Not fat anymore. Need to get better at golf now!

im basically 17 5'6 and generally very weak without any build.

but truthfully i don't want to think too much about golf swing mechanics because there's so many contradictions like someone says to swing hard another says to swing easy. its strange. i just want to know how to get more distance without technique improvements. i see many golfers who have terrible swings yet they bomb it 290 down the fairway. just one question to end this thread: is distance important or not? should i just stop worrying about it or should i simply give up distance searching and just play the game?

Ace Travis is on a distinguished road
    Take 2 weeks off then quit forever.

To hit the ball longer, you need to swing the club faster. It's as simple as that. Technique plays a big part of that but in the end, you need to learn how to get the club moving faster.