100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Golf Guru justsomeguy is on a distinguished road

Local Instructor for chipping

I'm looking for a recommendation on the best local instructor for chipping and pitching. The name Gregg Foley seems to be mentioned often when it comes to putting, but I'm specifically looking for chipping help.

Let me explain. Without question I'm the Charles Barkley of chipping. I've been playing golf for 12 years and most beginners can chip better than I can. I know what I'm supposed to do. I've read Pelz. Over the past 6 years I have gone to 3 different local instructors for chipping lessons, and they have all giving me lots of good advice on how to chip. So I have the knowledge - but I just don't seem to be able to do the execution - and I have no idea why. Perhaps someone who uses video would be useful, so I can see exactly what I'm doing wrong before I try to learn what to do that is right.

Anyone have any recommendations?

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    From your description it doesn't sound like a physical problem, but a mental problem.

For 99% of the chips you are likely to have to make around a green, it's really as simple as:

1. Pick the club that will carry the ball the required distance.
    2. Make a smooth, putter like swing through the ball.

This approach will almost certainly guarantee you get the ball on the green and have a putt for par. It won't always be a short putt depending on the difficulty of the green/chip but it doesn't sound like that is your problem.
    Not fat anymore. Need to get better at golf now!

Golf Pig of the Year 09, 10, 11 Marcos is on a distinguished road Marcos's Avatar