CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: bermuda?

Putter sheila.gh is on a distinguished road

bermuda?

Has anyone here played in Bermuda?

I should give some background... I'm a travel agent, and I am sending some cruising clients to Bermuda with Celebrity Cruises for a week. Some folks are serious golfers, and some are beginners (taking advantage of a cruise sale). While I've been to Bermuda, I haven't golfed there (and my golfing clients haven't been there)...so I'm trying to find out more about the level of golfing from experts such as yourself.

I have googled, and while I've learned there are 9 world-class courses on that tiny island (supposed to be more golf courses/sq mi than anywhere else in the world), I'd like more personal reactions.

Has anyone played some or all of the courses? Might you be so kind to share your views? What did you think of them? Does one really stand out? Are they sufficiently challenging for advanced golfers? How would you rate them for beginners?

Thanks for any advice!
    Last edited by sheila.gh; 05-17-2012 at 08:09 AM.

Fairway Junkie Michael is on a distinguished road
    I have played in Bermuda, used to be a member at the Port Royal Club and it is worth a round for the serious players. For the beginners I would recommend the Fairmont Course, it is at the hotel and is a par three course. Othera of note are:

Tucker's Point (used to be called Castle Harbour years ago)
    Mid Ocean is great but private and I believe you need to go with a member
    Riddell's Bay is relatively short and close to Hamilton if the ships are docking there.

The 16th hole at Port Royal is probably one of the signature holes of the whole island. It is only a par 3 but depending on what tee box you play and what the wind is doing you can hit anything from a short iron to 3 wood !!!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. Will definitely pass on to my clients!