CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Golf Pig of the Year 09, 10, 11 Marcos is on a distinguished road Marcos's Avatar

Percentage of golfers under 100 score.

Having a discussion the other day with a buddy and we talked about the % of golfers that play under 100. It seems that only 5% are under 100 but I would say about 90% of peopel I play with are under 100 and then some. What gives with these stats and where do they come from. Just curious how they calculate these. Are they using official scores from tournements and events (CPGA)
    Any official info on this would be appreciated. It would be fun to post our scores also to see if the average here play above 100.
    I will start and say all of my games were in the 80-90 range last year.

Postmaster General big mac is on a distinguished road big mac's Avatar

I have wondered that too

Good question-----is the answer actual stroke play or handicap score??? I have been playing for 8 years and can consistantly get into the 85-90 range. I can also get one game a year in the low 80s and also in the high 90-go figure. It does not seem reasonable for me at my age and stage in life to go appreciably any lower-------------unless I spent a LOT more time on the course AND on a practice facility. I take the game fairly seriously but not to the point that I eat-sleep and breathe it. Marc---I think you are an exception---a good exception as your are out there that much and meet with some of the other guys. It's a lot like skiing-if you ski with better skiers you will improve-----you have to---it's a matter of "life and death". I would say golf is the same-only a little safer

Most of the folks I play with are social golfers---which is great---don't get me wrong---but I dare say MOST golfers ARE social golfers and weekend golfers-------pretty hard to stay under 100 if your in that category. The game is not an easy game as well we all know.