100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Habitual poster OutOfTheRough is on a distinguished road OutOfTheRough's Avatar

Wedges??? What should I do??

Okay so it is time for me to finaly purchase some new wedges. I've been playing the Nike Sv wedges for a few years that I purchased off of Gropper.

My current wedge setup is 52 (10 deg) 56 (14 deg) 60 (10 deg). I love my 52, and mainly use my 56 for around the green, but have been working on using the 60 for those tight/short greenside shots this past off season. The 60 will get more use this year.

Now I find they are good wedge but they are the only ones I've used, but I'm curious as to what others have experienced (especially all you club ho's out there ).

Should I look at cleveland ( cg 15 or 14) , or look at the Vokeys ( SM2 - with varying degrees of bounce ). I thought if I went with the vokeys I can lower the bounce on the 56 to 11 deg.

Any help or guidance would be great!

Tim
    Proud member of the 2012 OG vs TGN Ryder Cup winning team

Singles Match Play Champ 2012 Wilster is on a distinguished road Wilster's Avatar
    Scratch wedges would get my vote Tim. Great feel and look , whenever i get the oppertunity , i'll be getting another set for sure .
    At the end of the day ... It gets dark

Moderator Big Johnny69 is on a distinguished road Big Johnny69's Avatar
    Forever stuck between single digit and trunk slammer!
    To best determine what type of wedges you should use, we need a bit more info:

What type of player are you: digger or sweeper?
    What type of shot do you prefer around the green: bump and run/high pitch/flops?
    What are the course conditions you generally play: tight lies/closely mown or fluffier grass?
    What are the bunkers like: hard packed or very soft sand?
    "A life lived in fear of the new and the untried is not a life lived to its fullest." M.Pare 10/09/08