CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Tempo Trouble

Birdie mr shank is on a distinguished road

Tempo Trouble

Recently I have been spraying the ball in every conceivable direction. I hit it solid but go from hook to slice to draw to fade to pull to push. I think I've even managed to invent some shots never before seen.
    I think it's mostly due to poor tempo, does anyone have any suggestions?

Hopelessly Addicted broken27 is on a distinguished road broken27's Avatar
    I was recently told that tempo issues can be addressed by doing the "feet together" drill. Basically stand in a regular golf stance, but with your heels together. Using a wedge, take a regular swing. If you swing too fast, you'll feel a loss of balance. If you swing too slow, you'll be uncomfortable, but at least you should be hitting straight.

I'm no expert though...

Dan
    [URL=http://www.sportsfiend.ca/]Sportsfiend.ca - Make You Opinion Into News...

7 Iron laxgolf is on a distinguished road

Solution

Go out and buy a book called Tour Tempo. It comes with a cd that you can use at the range. I loaded the tracks on my mp3 player. I know it sounds corny, but trust me on this one...it'll easily be the best $40 you'll ever spend on golf. I've been using it for a couple of months now and my ball striking has improved dramatically. I get a nice 'thwack' when I hit the ball and have developed a controllable draw with all my clubs. My distance has increased by 10 yards per club and my accuracy is consistent. That being said, my scores have dropped from mid 90's to mid 80's. I know some people reading this are saying 'yeah right'. If you don't believe me read some of the online reviews. Proper tempo is something that could never be taught until now and is the holy grail to PGA players.

There are also a couple of drills in the book that I haven't tried out yet, but intend to work on them throughout the winter. I've been told by friends that they are really helpful.