100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hylands GC

9 Iron LoisDNominator is on a distinguished road

Hylands GC

Are there any current or past members of Hylands who would share with me their experiences, both positive and negative? Thanks

Must be Single dbleber is on a distinguished road dbleber's Avatar
    I was a member there for a few years so here is my take on the course.

Pros:
    2 18 hole courses
    Driving range
    2 practice holes
    Fitting/learning Facility
    Course drains well
    Always in good shape

Cons:
    Large membership, more so now that they opened it up to the public for memberships
    Very hard to get a tee time
    Slow rounds
    Old boys club
    Courses are not overly hard and both are pretty close to the same type of golf

I left because I got sick of never getting a tee time that I wanted and when I did the rounds were so slow that I wish I hadn't. I started playing early bird but who wants to play golf at 5:30 am all the time. The members are old, when I was there the avg age was 67, as a young golfer I didn't feel welcomed and the old boys club seemed to run the course. I miss the driving range and the staff, plus they have a great breakfast at the club house and probably the best golf course hot dogs at the turn.

7 Iron rtto5588 is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by dbleber View Post
    I miss the driving range and the staff, plus they have a great breakfast at the club house and probably the best golf course hot dogs at the turn.
    I think it says a lot about the course when the only things ex members miss are the food and staff. Opps, and driving range .

Hybrid TLB is on a distinguished road
    I was a member for 12 years but left last year to join EG. Fully concur with dbleber's comments above especially the hot dogs. I used to use up my bar coupons ($250) on hot dogs exclusively.