100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Andy24

started playing golf about 1 month ago

I just started playing golf about 1 month ago, and I'm shooting around a 51 score on 9 holes (par 36 course). I don't see it as very good, but I haven't really figured out my swing yet, and I just purchased the medicus 2000 in hopes of straightening it out. I slice baaaaadly with my driver, but shoot straight with almost all my irons.

am I doing good for being a beginner or should I be shooting better?

Birdie g8r is on a distinguished road
    Thats a decent score for 1 month of playing. You could probably easily score under 50 if you left your driver in the garage and used a 3-wood off the tee, or only irons. Make sure that you keep track of your penalty strokes from the beginning (lost balls, unplayable lies, etc) because when you drop 3 penalty strokes in can equate to up to 5 or 6 strokes off your score.

Good Luck.

Andy24
    g8r:

thanks for the input, however, I want to learn how to hit with my driver. Since I started so recently I am not too worried about the score, just about learning more. If I could get my drives to go straight, it would be no problem for me to score lower. If I just get close to the green (100 yards) there is no problem from there. I have never 3 putted, since my first put always almost goes in, and if it doesn't, it leaves me 3 feet from the hole.

To conclude: my shortgame is no problem whatsoever, it is the tee shots that screw up my game.

5 Wood golfmania is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy24
    I slice baaaaadly with my driver, but shoot straight with almost all my irons.
    Its odd that your irons go straight, and your driver doesnt. The driver is , in my opinion, slightly harder to hit for a few reasons:
    - degree of loft
    - hits the ball slightly differently than an iron
    - the macho factor.