CorporateGolfXtra 2023
+ Reply to Thread
    7 Iron holeinone is on a distinguished road

slicing the ball

I've been playing golf for around 5 years now and I've always had a natural draw on my ball (driving and irons) since day 1. I started fading/slicing the ball this year on EVERY single shot (i never hook or draw it anymore at all). I dont know what happened to my swing over the course of the winter for such a drastic change in the results. I havent changed my clubs, havent gained strenght, no injuries....

I noticed that I use to get a lot more roll with my draw and I want it back.

What could of caused this dramatic change?

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    Unfortunately it could be any of a million things.

Start with the basics. Check your stance, alignment, and grip. Then check to see if your swing path has somehow changed to be coming from out to in.
    Not fat anymore. Need to get better at golf now!

3 Wood goley is on a distinguished road
    Slicing the ball is caused by and open clubfac, period. (assuming you make centered contact) Make sure the face isnt opening in the backswing or on the way down. Find someone who has a highspeed video camera that will capture the clubface on the downswing and start from there.

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by goley View Post
    Slicing the ball is caused by and open clubfac, period.
    Umm, not quite.

Open club face + inside to out path = push.

Square club face + out to in path = fade/slice.

Open face + out to in path = slice.
    Not fat anymore. Need to get better at golf now!

Singles Match Play Champ 2011 John is on a distinguished road John's Avatar
    I would start at your grip and work your way back into your setup.

7 Iron holeinone is on a distinguished road
    weird thing is I dont feel like I've changed anything in my swing

time to head to the range a couple of times i guess