CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Putter Danno is on a distinguished road Danno's Avatar

How to hit it farther

I am new at golf, so please don't laugh. I went out to the driving range today and was only getting about 150 yards with my driver which kind of disappoints me. The good news is that most of them were straight at least.
    Also, I was hitting against a stiff wind at the time, and the range balls were in pretty bad shape.
    I want to hit much farther than that.
    Any ideas?

Caddy powerlefty is on a distinguished road
    Practice.

Take lessons.

Team Match Play Champ 2010 DenisO is on a distinguished road DenisO's Avatar
    You're new to golf, the best thing you can do is take lessons. They'll teach you the basics and with a solid foundation you'll hit it further. If lessons are a problem, youtube videos I guess? They'll probably all say similar things though, keep your front arm straight, and release the club at the proper time to increase clubhead speed.

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    How to hit it farther 101.

1. Hit the ball in the center of the clubface. This is the most important part.

2. Swing faster. Note that I said faster, not harder.

#2 is harder than you think if you are going to also obey #1.
    Not fat anymore. Need to get better at golf now!

5 Wood leafseh is on a distinguished road leafseh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jvincent View Post

2. Swing faster. Note that I said faster, not harder.

#2 is harder than you think if you are going to also obey #1.
    Can you be black and white in saying that a 'faster' backswing equates to a faster downswing? Or is it more in the hip-shoulder-turn-corkscrew motion?

Weird things start happening in your backswing when you speed things up.
    Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.

Golf Padawan nokids is on a distinguished road nokids's Avatar