CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Marshall?

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar

Marshall?

Got the following quote from another thread.So should we always listen to the marshall? I once hit someone on the elbow after following the marshall's advice to go ahead and shoot. It is a very unpleasant experience believe me. I am not a lawyer but who would be responsible if a law suit was to take place. The shooter? The marshall?

Which is exactly why I will never play...again. When a marshall is up your butt every second hole for slow play when your foursome is waiting for the threesome in front of you to hurry up, that's inexcusable.

Funny though, this one marshall yelled at me to "SHOOT" while I was on the teebox, waiting for the group in front to move on. I waited and he yelled again, "SHOOT." So I took my driver and ripped it, right over the heads of the three in front. The marshall says to me, "Why didn't you yell fore?" I walked by him and said, " You told me to shoot, yell fore yourself."

Didn't see him for the rest of the round

Founder Kilroy is on a distinguished road Kilroy's Avatar
    I am pretty sure if you hit you are responsible. NEVER hit if the group in front is too close. Marshalls make mistakes and it certainly sounds like this was one.

It seems that technology is having another unfortunate effect. I play with several people who routinely hit 300 yard drives. Not too long ago that was unheard of. This can actually slow play since you have to give the groups ahead even more distance before you top the ball 100 yards.

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Kilbank
    I am pretty sure if you hit you are responsible. NEVER hit if the group in front is too close. Marshalls make mistakes and it certainly sounds like this was one.