100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Monday Qualifier 314314 is on a distinguished road

Portable GPS Recommendations?

Thinking of getting a Portable GPS for my traveling. I have no experience on such units so any recommendation on features is appreciated.

Fairway Junkie calleygolf is on a distinguished road
    You talking about a Golf GPS or a car GPS?

Non-golf.. Driving within Canada/States

Wannamaker stevek is on a distinguished road stevek's Avatar
    I bought a TomTom from Futureshop in the spring as I have to do travelling for work quite often. It always gets me where I'm going but sometimes in a roundabout manner. (It brought me to the Upper East side of Vancouver when looking for my downtown Hotel - which was scary - it turns out the street I was looking for was a split road.)

It also recommended driving left off the top of a bridge interchange in Houston.

Both of these would have been avoided if I had just done a look at the map function before leaving.

It occasionally (twice) tells me to get off a highway and then right back on.

One feature I really like is when it tells you to turn left or right it tells you which lane to get into. (And in Montreal, it tells you which lane of the highways to get into.)

I've used a Magellen and the TomTom and find both are about the same - and I wouldn't drive in a strange city without it.

Fairway Junkie calleygolf is on a distinguished road
    I've had the same experiances as Stevek, and I too own a Tom Tom..sometime when comming off a rural road onto a highway it thinks I missed the on ramp and starts telling me to turn around and get on the next exit. But it eventually catches up, I think it just has something to do with the closeness of the two roads and it can't tell the difference until a few seconds later.

Golf Guru Gropper is on a distinguished road Gropper's Avatar
    If you have an iphone i recomend Navigon, awsome app, will go up against any stand alone device.