CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Hall of Fame jonf is on a distinguished road jonf's Avatar

Building a guitar?

Okay, another guitar question. I've been wanting a telecaster for a while now, but given my current employment situation, and the fact that I hope to save most of what I earn for travel, I don't have a fortune to spend. I was considering buying a kit and building my own. Seems like it could be fun, and the guitar would definitely be my own.

I have no previous experience doing this kind of thing. Has anyone done it before? Is this something I should be able to do, or is it best left to the pros? Does anyone know of a good place (or website) to buy kits? What kind of quality are the guitars at the end of the process? Any info would be great. Thanks

Must be Single 1972Apex is on a distinguished road 1972Apex's Avatar
    Hey Jon. I'm not sure what level of guitar player you are or exactly what you have in mind, however I find it hard to believe one can build a guitar from components for less that what a Mexican made Fender tele goes for these days. As well, you could pick up a Squire (by Fender) fairly inexpensively as well.
    If you want something decent to play around on and learn, I have a Squire Tom Delonge style Strat (single pickup) that I could sell you for literally a song on the pay-when-you-can plan. It's almost brand new and has a brand new Fender gig bag with it. I think I have played it 3 or 4 times.
    The opinions expressed in this post are mine and may not necessarily reflect the opinions of others on OG.

Golf Guru justsomeguy is on a distinguished road
    You might want to check out this place:

http://www.stguitarworks.com/

There is also a guitar shop in Kemptville (of all places) that might be able to provide you with some info:

http://classaxe.ca/

Albatross bobjones59 is on a distinguished road bobjones59's Avatar