100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Driver Adska is on a distinguished road

Golf Sports Psychology Research in Ottawa

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a member for a few years now on this board more as a passive observer, rather than an active contributor. It’s always served me well since I started and I feel like I need to take advantage of it more!

For the past 5 years, I’ve been studying Psychology at Carleton University. I’m currently doing my Master’s degree and I wanted to share my area of research in hopes that it may help/inspire some of the avid lovers of the game out there. I’ve been tremendously interested in the dynamics of sports psychology ever since I started playing golf. Over the seven years that I have been playing, I continued to read and study everything I could regarding the game, but I was most fascinated by the Rotella, and various popular psych books you can purchase at any golf, or bookstore.

Last year for my honours thesis, I conducted a study at my home course where I examined the role that shyness, psychological coping styles, and anxiety/arousal may play in affecting golf putting. People who participated in my study were both women and men, had a range of handicaps from +0.8 to 42.6, and varied in age from 18 to 70. I wanted to have a wide variety of people, and skill in my sample to make sure that any interesting conclusions can be generalized to EVERY golfer, rather than a specific group (e.g., scratch players, beginners, etc.).