CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    2 Iron luigicactus is on a distinguished road

club fitting VS feel fitting

I would like to get some opinion / advice on a dilemma. I've been building my clubs for a couple of years. I know I risk to be crucified by some, I've only been measuring and trimming following chart and then spining my shaft, but I never measured swingweights pr checked my lies and lofts. So, all of my clubs probably have swingweights that are all over the place.
    Once my clubs have cured, I fit them on the driving range going with feel and a big roll of lead tape. It takes me a couple of days ( a few hours at a time) as I want to be fresh for every clubs. I end up with clubs that feels just right for me and perfect trajectory.

Now my actual dilemma : I just bought some KBS shafts to go in my Bridgstone J33 CB. And wondering if I should do my good old feel fitting sessions, or if I should go see a real clubfitter / clubmaker to have them personnaly blueprinted... I know I would benefit having my lie and loft checked...

Anyone else do what I call feel fitting?
    Anybody knows a good fitter that would not mind me bringing my heads, shafts and grips (as I also have brand new Winn grips)?

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar
    Chances are that the swingweight will not be that far off if the shaft weights and head weights were within tolerance to begin with

Your feel feeling method is not a bad one per say. In a way you are fitting yourself el generic way but what you are doing is somehow MOI matching and flex matching your clubs just a like a fitter would do. It just takes longer. A lot of players on tour tweak with lead tape until it feels right to them. If you were to measure the swingweight of your irons I bet that they would not be swingweighted matched.