CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Caddy beefstuf is on a distinguished road beefstuf's Avatar

Motivation for new equipment

Well I have been browsing these forums for quite a few years and I notice the same people purchase and trade golf clubs on a regular basis. I am curious why this is the case here. I have been golfing for quite a few years (12 or so) and can count the sets of irons I have had through my tenure:

Irons
    1. Fairway Oversize Irons
    2. Cleveland TA3
    3. TaylorMade RAC LT

Woods and Drivers
    1. Fairway Set
    2. Callaway Steelheads
    3. Titleist 975D with Steelhead
    4. Titleist 985 with Steelhead FWY wood
    5. Titlest 905T (current) Titleist 904f
    6. Callaway FT-i (current)

Wedges
    1. Cleveland 588
    2. Titleist Vokey's

Putter
    1. Fairway Putter
    2. Odyssey Dual Force
    3. Scotty Cameron

If everyone could try and post the sets they have used in the past 10 or so years I think it would be really interesting to see the progressions we golfers experience.

In addition to that what drives you guys to continue to trade and purchase clubs on a regular basis? Or what drives you to change the type of clubs you use? For me I like the sound and and look of Titleist...I am trying the FT-i merely because I am experimenting with this so called new technology, but with my irons if the sounds, look and grooves are great then I try to stay with them as long as possible.

I think this could be a very interesting thread.

Moderator Big Johnny69 is on a distinguished road Big Johnny69's Avatar
    Forever stuck between single digit and trunk slammer!
    I'm not even going to try to list all the equipment I've played over my 8 yrs or so of golfing. But as for the constant changing, it's just fun to try new stuff. If something works, I'll keep it a little longer until I want to try something else. My scores don't really change trying out all this equipment, so why not do something that keeps it interesting???