CorporateGolfXtra 2023
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Consistently present Kiwi is on a distinguished road Kiwi's Avatar

Exclamation Tips to speed up play

I've been playing (at) golf since 1974, but have not played regularly (60+ rounds/year) until about four years ago. I am an 18 handicapper and will probably stay in that range. I don't have the time to commit to improving, sad to say. I wish I could play faster, but clearly taking 90 strokes or so a round does not take 4.5 hours. I'd like to learn what I can do to speed things up. Someone said earlier in the thread that it is the "between" shot stuff that causes delay. Well, how about some "tips" on how to speed up play. Maybe we'll all benefit from that. I'll start the thread, hope you find it a worthwhile exercise.

Way Beyond Help rezadue is on a distinguished road rezadue's Avatar
    Here are my tips:

1) 8 practice swings it 6 too many
    2) On the green, begin to read your putt if it does not interfere with the other players concentration or line. Don't stand there leaning on your putter.
    3) While walking in between shots, look at where you are, where you want to go and start to formulate a plan on how to get there.
    4) If you are in a 4some and 2 balls are off the fairway, split into groups of 2 and look for both ball simultaneously.

Here is one I got from an older golfer some time ago that would save a lot of time...

Park your cart, electric or pull, on the path to the next tee box. Take all the clubs you may need for your next shot(s) with you to your ball. Taking a cart around the back of the green or to the "off" side just delays clearing the green for the next group.

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 LobWedge is on a distinguished road LobWedge's Avatar
    - If you've lagged your putt inside 2 feet, and you're not interfering with another player's line, putt out and get out of the way.