100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Eagle Rusty is on a distinguished road Rusty's Avatar

New shaft for GBB 2 - any suggestions?

Hi;

My brother in law gave me his broken Calaway Great Big Bertha 2 driver for Christmas. He snapped the shaft, he wouldn't say how, and I had admired it when I played with him this fall.
    Anyway it has a RCH Pro Series 5.2, he loved the shaft, but he hits the ball 270-290 and I only hit 240 on my good days(I have a fairly smooth tempo). Should I just send it to Callaway and ask for it to be reshafted with the same shaft?
    I am very happy with my Callaway 3 wood that has the yellow and purple UST 65 regular flex, would this be a good match for the GBB 2? Has anyone else had success with reshafting a GBB 2, and who did it for them? I understand that some people on the forum are club builders, any ideas?
    I have been playing for 3 years now and am looking forward to this next summer to really kick it up a notch.

Thanks

Russ Porter
    Rusty

Hopelessly Addicted el tigre is on a distinguished road el tigre's Avatar

Send it to Callaway

Rusty:

My advice is to go to Chuck Brown's with the head and the broken shaft and have it sent back to Callaway for replacement. Callaway's customer service is second to none, and IMHO chances are good to excellent that they will replace the shaft at no charge. I have had two shafts replaced by Callaway (driver + 3-wood) with no questions asked, so it is very likely that they will do the same for you. You can then decide if you like the original or not.
    [COLOR=green][B]Golf is a game invented by the same people who think music comes out of bagpipes.[/B][/COLOR]

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar

shaft

If el tigre's advice does not work I have a Callaway RCH 96 regular flex sitting in my garage. It is already tipped for a bore thru head. Good luck. André.

Need a Caddy rockford35 is on a distinguished road rockford35's Avatar
    Russ,