CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Question???

Forum Jedi Weazl is on a distinguished road Weazl's Avatar

Question???

Without the obvious answer " as many as possible " how many rounds per year do you play on average? And how many do you think one needs to play to improve.

This is my first year actually trying to play a lot but as I cannot play during the week very easily I have played nearly 20 rounds this season and will continue to play until the end of the season. I have seen a noticeable improvement this year, especially in my wedge play as my scoring has gone down and I no longer use a " foot wedge " or take any mulligans. Thoughts?
    Lots of yoga pants these days, not enough Yoga!

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 LobWedge is on a distinguished road LobWedge's Avatar
    I'm lucky to play 25 rounds a year right now. It's frustrating for me because I'm missing the consistency that I had when I used to play 2-3 times as much.

IMO to improve year over year while only playing 25-30 rounds, you need to practice as much as you play. If you can squeeze in 1-2 hours a week of dedicated practice time you'll get the most out of limited playing time. And, carry your practice through the winter. Putting can easily be done at home. Consider a membership at an indoor facility.
    When applying the Rules, you follow them line by line. You don't read between them.

Hall of Fame NoBack is on a distinguished road NoBack's Avatar

Thumbs up got it on the nose Lob Wedge

IMO to improve year over year while only playing 25-30 rounds, you need to practice as much as you play. If you can squeeze in 1-2 hours a week of dedicated practice time you'll get the most out of limited playing time.
    Perfect! Leave a club or two in the trunk of your car.

And, carry your practice through the winter.
    Also a MUST needed practice.

Now as for number of times I play? Usually play about 25 rounds a year during the first 3 months of the year (jan/feb/mar) at Golf-O-Max.