100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Conundrum

Sand Wedge keithf is on a distinguished road

Question Conundrum

I just started playing golf last August ('06) and have now played about 120 rounds to date. I usually play from the white tees and am scoring on average between 85 to 93; my scores are fairly similar if I play from the blue tees. I started off slicing but now always hit the ball straight or with a slight draw with my irons and with a fade or draw with my woods.

My problem is this: I play golf left-handed but am right handed naturally. I suspect that I could generate much more power and distance if I played right-handed and I am thinking of switching this winter during my practice sessions at the range. Currently my distances are average but I know that I produce more power on the right hand as I am also a tennis player.

Has anyone here had the same issue and made a similar change? Serious input would be appreciated.

Cheers

Hall of Fame jonf is on a distinguished road jonf's Avatar
    DON'T Change it. If you are hitting in the 80s after one year, DO NOT change anything. most golfers play a lifetime and can't do that.

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by keithf View Post
    My problem is this: I play golf left-handed but am right handed naturally. I suspect that I could generate much more power and distance if I played right-handed and I am thinking of switching this winter during my practice sessions at the range. Currently my distances are average but I know that I produce more power on the right hand as I am also a tennis player.
    DO NOT CHANGE!!!