100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    1 Iron golfmajic is on a distinguished road

Handicap RCGA vs USGA

Here is a Florida golf finding.
    The USGA Handicap system differs from the RCGA system. When I started playing in Florida I was getting skinned by what I thought were the same handicap golfers as me. I attributed this to the change in grass, winds and altitude.
    I discovered that the USGA Handicap system id substantially different from the RCGA system, here is how:
    RCGA
    Handicap Strokes Allowed over par
    0 or plus 1 over par
    1 to 18 2 over par
    19 to 32 3 over par
    33 over 4 over par

USGA
    9 or less 2 over par
    10 to 19 max 7 even on a par 3
    20 to 29 max 8 even on a par 3
    30 to 39 max 9 even on a par 3
    40 or more max 10 even on a par 3

Be careful all handicaps are not created equal, I plan to write a note to the RCGA asking for an explanation!

Way Beyond Help Colby is on a distinguished road Colby's Avatar
    That is correct, the calculation for Equitable Stroke Contol (ESC) is different. That being said, I'm not sure I follow your logic because they would be inputting higher numbers on holes resulting in higher handicaps.
    It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.
    Colby

Hall of Fame jvincent is on a distinguished road jvincent's Avatar
    I think the US system does generally increase handicaps which means you give your opponent more strokes.

The best example is a par 3 with water. Two balls in the water (happens sometimes) and I am maxed out in Canada for a "5". In the US I can end up carding a 7.

If this happens on a regular basis my US index would be 2 higher, completely attributable to the fact I am a spaz on par 3s over water.

FWIW, I'm not usually that spastic unless the wind is really up on Stonebridge #2W.

But golfmajic was talking about golfers with the same handicap, not giving anyone strokes...