100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
    Gap Wedge BredStik is on a distinguished road BredStik's Avatar

The feeling of buying new clubs...

A litte about myself...

I've been playing more seriously for about 2 years. I still don't get on the course as much as I want, but I play 10-15 rounds per summer and go to the practice range once a week during the summer. I have managed to get a round under 90 this last summer but usually play close to 95. I've used the same irons since the beginning (Wilson ProStaff AD) and swapped driver, putter, wedges and woods many times...

I recently changed my irons. I was getting good results with the Wilsons, but they gave me a really high trajectory and not penetrating enough for my taste. But I guess it's what you get for a cheapo ultra-oversized irons. I tried my friend's Ben Hogan Edge CFT irons and liked them instantly. The look, the feel, the distance gain... ;-) So I found a set on ebay and took the plunge.

I received them yesterday... What a joy to unwrap new clubs! I took a good look at each of them and made a couple of swings in my basement. I finally cleaned them all and put them in my bag to replace my old irons. They look great!

I have slowly built a set that I like a lot, especially for the money I put in. Most of my clubs are used, but in great condition. In fact, only one club was bought new in my entire set. My entire set cost my less than 600$. It sure ain't a "player's" set, but it fits me perfectly.

Here's what I currently have in my bag (and intent to keep that way at least for the 2007 season!):

TaylorMade R580 driver
    TaylorMade 200 Steel 3w
    Dunlop Flame 7w
    Ben Hogan CFT Edge 3i to PW
    Wilson Harmonized 50 and 55 degree wedges
    Odyssey DFX-1100

What about you? What's your story, what did you change recently, how you felt about it? Tell me about it! Looking forward Spring 2007...

Hall of Fame MusicMan is on a distinguished road MusicMan's Avatar