CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    NFL Guru fundonny is on a distinguished road fundonny's Avatar

Question During a given round, what wedges do you use?

Do you carry 4 wedges?

Do you usually use all four?

Which one do you use the most?
    Donny Vantage NFL Guru, since 1974
    Money won is twice as sweet as money earned

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar
    I am no pro and don't have much time to practice. So in my situation I will often take out the LW out of the bag therefore I don't get tempted. The gap wedge is very usefull to me because of distance gaps. For now I think it is best for me to only stick to the SW for sand play and chipping.
    Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

NFL Guru fundonny is on a distinguished road fundonny's Avatar
    Why is the LW so hard to hit? I was reading one of the mags this month, and most pros use the LW out of the sand because of the increased loft.
    Donny Vantage NFL Guru, since 1974
    Money won is twice as sweet as money earned

They will use it when the the pin is tight and/or when they are very close to the lip and they have to get it up quickly(no pun intended) From the grass I believe that mid handicapers want to help the ball up and end up skulling the shot. I had the pleasure of playing a round with Michael Pare in the fall and one thing that struck me was the way he hits down on the ball on most shots. In other words he is letting the loft of the club do the work.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Hall of Fame Ginker is on a distinguished road Ginker's Avatar
    I carry 4 wedges.. Pitching wedge, gap, sand, lob.. I use the gap wedge from 110-100 yards, also use it for all my chipping around the greens providing I don't need it come in high or land soft. I use the sandwedge from 80 yards. The lobwedge is for flop shots and all bunker shots.
    Proud Member BigJohnnys Ryder Cup Team '08