+ Reply to Thread
    3 Wood TORAIDER is on a distinguished road

? for Clubmakers...

I have a question for the formally trained and self taught clubmakers in this forum. I am thinking about learning to build my own clubs. I'm not sure I want to take a formal course, but I am not opposed to the idea. Here's my question(s):

When you first decided to learn this skill, how did you go about it?

Did you buy books, if so which one(s) do you recommend? or Did you take a course? (again, if so which one.)

I would also be interested in a brief history of your journey to becoming a proficient club builder.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar
    I first ordered one club to build from GW before they had a place here. Then I ordered their basic clubmaking (600 pages). the rest is history. there are plenty of links to help you get started without the need of buying any books.
    Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Hybrid danscustom is on a distinguished road
    When I started I simply could not afford the set I wanted so I tried with no experience. It worked but if I compare then to today - whole new ballgame.
    Maltby has a home study course which I believe to be good - your pace
    or
    you can attend one of many courses offered by the Big guys + PCS of course.
    Most of my formal is thru Maltby - been to his shop at his home twice.
    You want to talk about amasing.
    This is where I ended up

Clubmaking Accreditations
    Certified by The Ralph Maltby Clubmaking Academy in:
    2001 - Professional Assembly & Repair
    2003 - Professional Clubfitting