100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Forgiving Irons

Lob Wedge laventus is on a distinguished road

Question Forgiving Irons

I've been playing for three years and I'm trying to select a new set of Irons (I've been playing with Fairway brand irons).
    I'd like a set that are easy to hit but more accurate than the "bargain basement" irons I've been using.

I'm a fairly high handicap golfer. A good game is under 100.

From what I've read, Spalding Top Flite XL2000 or Dunlop DDH 461 OS are forgiving.

Have any you golfers out there tried these irons or have a set that you really like that are easy to hit?

Thanks

P.S. I like True Temper steel shafts...

Golf Nut nice_lag is on a distinguished road
    I bought a set of Tommy Armour 845 OS a couple years ago... They are a "game-improvement" set of irons and I found them pretty solid and quite forgiving. I haven't heard bad things about them and most people that used them liked them.

They're fairly cheap right now as Tommy Armour is coming out with a new series.

But whichever set you buy, shop around, hit a few. It's a total mistake to just buy clubs without hitting balls with them first...

That's my 2 cents worth.
    nice_lag
    Almonte

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar

forgiving irons

Hi Laventus.
    Forgiving irons are simply cavity back irons most times oversize. There are many excellent brands out there to select from. The not so forgiving irons are called"blades or muscle backs". In a cavity back most of the weight is distributed around the perimeter and in a blade most of the weight is located at the bottom of the club. The pros tend to favour blades because they can apparently work the ball more(fade or draw etc...) and when they strike the ball dead center they claim it is the sweetest feeling.
    One more word of advice: spend more time on the putting green than anywhere else.
    Hope this helps.