CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Way Beyond Help rezadue is on a distinguished road rezadue's Avatar

Anyone with Home Theater PC setup?

I was just wondering if there is anyone on this board with home theater PC setup experience. I am setting one up and have run into a bit of a problem:

I am new to HTPCs, but not new to PC. Recently I began to put together a simple HTPC setup and have run into some issues which I need a bit of help with. Here is a little background on what I have:

PC : Shuttle X mini PC SB61G2 (http://global.shuttle.com/Product/Ba...ew.asp?B_id=18
    )
    Processor: Intel P4-3.0GHz (Northwood)
    DVD: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4040B - A301 - DVD Burner/CDRW
    RAM: 1 GB of RAM (2 x 512 MB)
    Hard Drives: 100 GB & 160 GB (Both Western Digital)
    Audio: Realtek AC97 onboard with 5.1 and SPDIF IN and OUT
    Video Card: MSI GeForce 4 Ti-4200 64 Meg
    Capture Card: Pinnacle PCI Pro
    TV: 42" 16:9 Sony LCD rear projection HDTV
    Satellite Box: Viewsat 2000 Platinum

I currently am getting video and audio on the PC and hearing and seeing everything on the TV, but am having some issues with the sound which I am sure is due to my not hooking up the sound properly.

Video is setup with S-Video cable connecting my satellite box to the capture card. In addition, there is a DVI cable connection my video card to my TV.

Audio is currently (and probably incorrectly) setup with a fibre cable connecting the SPDIF out of my satellite box to the SPDIF in of my onbard sound card (I have also tried connecting a composite to mini RCA cable from the satellite box to the LINE IN of the sound card with the same results). There is also a mini RCA to composite connecting my HEADPHONE out of the sound card to the TV.

Problems are:
    1) Regardless of whether the Pinnacle software is running to watch video; or not, there is sound related to the TV channel the satellite box is on; is being broadcast through the TV.