CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Sand Wedge CiscoPat is on a distinguished road

Question Loft VS Distance

I have a couple of questions concerning driver lofts and distance.

How much of a yardage difference is there between a 9* loft vs 12* loft while driving off the Tee?

I know that a higher loft helps the ball carry in distance, but does it cause a balloon effect.?

I'm quite new at golf, fell in love with it the firs time i played... this year will be my second year... cant wait to get started again.

thanks,
    Ciscopat

Driver Happy Gilmore is on a distinguished road Happy Gilmore's Avatar

Smile Loft relates to swing speed

Hi Ciscopat,

I think that the higher the loft on the club will provide more distance to a slower swing speed by keeping the ball airborn longer. The lower lofts will allow the stronger golfer who swings faster to launch the ball further down the fairway but the launch angle will be lower thus the ball may hit the fairway sooner and run more.

You definitly get more control on a higher lofted club as more backspin is imparted on the ball and therefore keeps the ball on a straighter path, just look at your 9i-PW compared to your driver or 3i.

With the lower lofted faces you have to be more accurate with your swing path and when making contact to the centre of the face.

All in all I would start with a slightly higher driver loft until the confidence is there to try to go to a lower loft for more distance.

Remember, there is an optimal launch angle for the ball, I think about 11*, and depending on how you swing the club you may need more or less loft on the driver.

No one can tell you how to feel golf, you have to find out yourself. The process can be explained in great detail, but you are the only person who can feel what your hands tell you.

Best of luck.
    Happy

"Play every shot so that the next one will be the easiest that you can give yourself." - Billy Casper