CorporateGolfXtra 2024
+ Reply to Thread
    Lob Wedge loopie is on a distinguished road

Graphite vs Steel shafts

Hello.
    I'm considering buying a new set of irons this year, and I'm wondering what the difference is between steel shafts vs graphite shafts....are graphite shafts more forgiving?, easier to play with? or are they harder to control?
    I've been playing for a few years now and have always had steel shafts.
    Just looking for some advice/opinions.

Thanks

Hopelessly Addicted el tigre is on a distinguished road el tigre's Avatar
    There is no simple answer to this question - it depends on your swing. Here are a few links to help you out:

http://www.swingweight.com/learning_shaft_flex.htm

http://www.golfclubreview.com/genera...mendations.htm

This info may help you narrow things down a bit, but you need really need to try them out and see what works for you.

Hopelessly Addicted fireice is on a distinguished road fireice's Avatar
    I agree with El Tigre. I've played w/ both. You really have to demo a bunch of different types before you make a decision. good luck

Caddy powerlefty is on a distinguished road
    I play with both - graphite in my woods, steel in my irons. I've tried graphite in the irons but never got used to the feel of them - funny swingweight I think. I've also tried the graphite/steel hybrids that Adams came out with and reaaly didn't like the feel of them either. Two suggestions - 1. go for a club fitting and the fitter wil recomend something. 2. try some demos of both to see what feels right.

Must be Single 1972Apex is on a distinguished road 1972Apex's Avatar
    In general graphite shafts will allow a person to hit the ball a bit farther because of their lighter weight, while steel is considered more accurate.