+ Reply to Thread
    andy

Question Clubmaking as a hobby

I am thinking about getting into making my own golf clubs. I have read many books and have done a lot of research on-line and it it looks pretty straightforward (for basic assembly and swingweighting).

Is there anyone out there that has taken this up as a hobby and what are your results like. Should I continue along this road or should I drop and just buy the clubs finished?

Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Andy

mrcasual
    I've been building clubs for a few years now as a hobby. It is, as you say, pretty straightforward. If you are at all handy your results should be very good.

The best thing about it is that you can experiment with different shafts / flexes / heads to find out what you like and don't.

For the hobbiest you can do pretty much everything expect adjust loft and lie without spending very much on tools. Most people have what they need for basic assembly already.

Go for it.

andy

Thumbs up Thanks

Thanks for the info!!

I have had a fitting session with a clubmaker to establish the specs I should build to.

What's your opinion of the starter kit available through Golfworks ($150) which includes a swingweight scale. I have precalcuated all my swingweights using silvershot.com's SW calculator and plan to pre weigh all my components to within 0.5grams. I feel that this will give me a very consistently SW'd set. Do you have any experience with this? If so, how did it turn out. I have a spreadsheet calculator you can see if you like. I would love to get some feedback on it.