CorporateGolfXtra 2023
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Getting Fitted

Putter Polecat is on a distinguished road

Question Getting Fitted

Just getting back into golf after a year away. Ive got good clubs but after several buckets I've noticed on the face I'm hitting off the sweet spot towards the hosel. On the sole it appears that I'm making more contact at the toe. Does this make sense? I'm not an expert but think they need to be bent up. Any advice would be appreciated.

Arrow shooter Chieflongtee is on a distinguished road Chieflongtee's Avatar
    Have the lies checked.Then have the swingweight checked. I'll have more later.
    Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by Polecat
    Just getting back into golf after a year away. Ive got good clubs but after several buckets I've noticed on the face I'm hitting off the sweet spot towards the hosel. On the sole it appears that I'm making more contact at the toe. Does this make sense? I'm not an expert but think they need to be bent up. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Generally, golfers who make contact toward the heel of the face swing into the ball from the OUTSIDE. Regardless of your swing motion, having the lie angle checked as the Chief suggested and adjusted if necessary is the #1 priority. It appears that because the toe is digging in, your lies are too upright and that means that your ball will go right somewhat, with a perfect swing. If you change your swing from my assumed outside club head path to a more inside approach, then get the lie angles checked again.

Also, it may be advisable to see if the clubs are the right length for you. If you would provide the distance from the wrist crease of your dominant hand to the floor, AND your height, one of us will provide a recommended length