100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Driver Woes

Ty Webb

Driver Woes

I am a second year golfer and hit in the 110-120 range. I hit my 4 wood about 200 yards and usually straight. I don't have a 3 wood. When I attempt to hit my driver, it goes straight or to the right but only about 100 yards and usually along the grass. I would like to learn to use this club properly. It has a 10.5 degree loft.

Any tips?

Spinaker
    Hi Ty,
    Well I'm a complete beginner. I've been to the driving range like 4x and went golfing for the first time today. Shot a 134 on 18. Very bad I know. What I think might hekp you with your driver problem is the height of the ball on the tee. I"m assuming your teeing off when you have this problem right? I've found from my short experience that raising or lowering the tee/ball depending on the driver makes a difference. Maybe this is just some stupid conclusion I've made but its worth a try I think. Maybe you've already known this for 2years and this is just wasting your time. I'm basically all over the place on my shots so I have no real idea what I'm talking about and if anyone has tips for me (besides giving up the sport to save injury to others) I'd like to hear them. I'm a lefty and have bad slices. I'm unsure of how full of a swing I should be taking, how to stand and where the ball should be. (I prefer to stand behind the ball on all my shots??, besides putting.), grip, lining up shots or tricks to help with that and everything else. Well enough about me. GOod luck Ty. Hope it helps a bit.:bablefish

Spinaker
    Oh..one more thing. At the range I drive about 200-270 with a crappy driver and ball. This is about the only part of the game I'm somewhat proficient in.

Hopelessly Addicted el tigre is on a distinguished road el tigre's Avatar

Driver

Your club is only hitting the "top" half of the ball, which is called a "thin" shot. There are lots of reasons for it, but the first things to try would be: