100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Putter standard is on a distinguished road

is hitting from the right side an advantage??

Hi to all the players here who have far more experience than me. I am just learning to play golf and i am taking lessons from a pro shop in Toronto. The instructor asked me to change to hit as right handed because he said lefty are usually at a disadvantage when it comes to playing on the field?? is he saying this because all the courses are design for right handed players?? if anyone can answer my question, it will be greatly appreciated as i am really confused on why left handed players cannot compete with right handed players.

thanks

william

Sleeps here davevandyk is on a distinguished road davevandyk's Avatar
    he sounds like an idiot to me!! A right-handed golfer who hits a fade is at the same level as a left-handed golfer who hits a draw. If he said that, i would suggest getting lessons from another pro!! You should be playing from the side that feels most comfortable to you, if you are comfortable playing lefty, stick with it.

Mike Weir and Phil Mickelson dont seem to be at a disadvantage!!

Amateur Golfpeasant is on a distinguished road
    If your natural inclination is to play left, play left. Your learning curve switching will be much longer and much less enjoyable. There are plenty of club designs now for lefties thanks to popular left handed pros.

Fields DO tend to favour right handed players, but not to a degree that you'll suffer a big disadvantage, or disadvantage of any kind once you learn to hit the ball.

In short, the above is correct: he's an idiot.

yes, that is exactly what i thought even if i am just a beginner at golf. But he went on to explain about being a lefty means left arms are more powerful. and if i change to hit right handed, my left hand will be able to guide the club through the swing better??? is that part true?? thanks again for answering.

william