100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 3 or 4 wedges?

Putter orlimar is on a distinguished road

3 or 4 wedges?

What do you think is better: 3 or 4 wedges? I can't decide. I'd prefer the four: 48(pw)/52(gw)/56(sw)/60(lw) to the 3: 48(pw)/54(sw)/58(lw). But I would also like a hybrid to fill the gap between my 3 iron and my 3 wood. I can't choose both, because I am only allowed to carry 14 clubs. Wedges are your most important clubs, but do I really need 4?

What do you think?

jhazelton

Depends

For me, the decision is based on the loft of the PW. In my last set, I have a 48 degree PW. With it, I carried a 54 and a 58 degree wedge.

My new set has a 46.5 degree PW. I now carry 52, 56, and 60 degree wedges.

I don't own any hybrids, but I will switch between my 5 wood and 3 iron depending on what I figure I may need that particular round. (wind conditions, course layout, etc.)

Founder Kilroy is on a distinguished road Kilroy's Avatar
    Long hitters benefit from extra wedges. 4 full swing clubs inside 140 yards.
    Short hitters don't need 4 full swing clubs inside 100 yards.

Way Beyond Help Colby is on a distinguished road Colby's Avatar
    I moved from 4 wedges to 3 wedges late last year and I've been happy. My PW is 48 and I carry a 53 and a 58, so 5 degrees between my wedges. It's allowed me to put the 3 iron back in the bag.
    It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.
    Colby

Hall of Fame jeffc is on a distinguished road jeffc's Avatar

I use 4....

but not so much for the distance aspects.

I have a 45 PW, 51 GW, 56 SW and 60 LW. I rarely hit the SW or LW from the fairway. The sandwedge I hit mostly from the sand. The lob wedge, when I need to get it up in a hurry (usually around the green). The PW I hit 130 yds and the GW about 100. I also use the GW a lot for chipping.

This works for me. Your mileage may vary.

Founder Kilroy is on a distinguished road Kilroy's Avatar