100 Holes of Hope
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Wrist Hinge

Way Beyond Help rezadue is on a distinguished road rezadue's Avatar

Wrist Hinge

I am a beginner golfer who has played somewhere around 14 rounds of golf so far with a best score of 100. Beyond all of the regular problems that are associated with newbie golfers' consistencies, I have some issues with distance. Typically my 7 iron only flies around 115 yards. My 3 irons flies around 165 yards.

I understand that a good part of distance comes from hinging the wrist during backswing and releasing the hinge at ball impact. But I can't seem to get myself to perform this action during my swing.

Are there any tips on what I could do to practice this?

Thanks,
    Last edited by rezadue; 08-05-2005 at 07:57 AM.

Must be Single 1972Apex is on a distinguished road 1972Apex's Avatar
    Try using the hinging of your wrists to start your swing instead of trying to do it during your swing. That's what I do on the practice range and it helps me to repeat it on the course.

Golf Canada Rules Official L4 BC MIST is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by rezadue
    I am a beginner golfer who has played somewhere around 14 rounds of golf so far with a best score of 100. Beyond all of the regular problems that are associated with newbie golfers' consistencies, I have some issues with distance. Typically my 7 iron only flies around 115 yards. My 3 irons flies around 165 yards.

I understand that a good part of distance comes from hinging the wrist during backswing and releasing the hinge at ball impact. But I can't seem to get myself to perform this action during my swing.

Are there any tips on what I could do to practice this?

Thanks,